We are family – all my daugthers and me

20 Jul

In 2011 I packed up our household, myself, Pnina and my twin daughters, Maya and Romy (14) and moved from California to Israel, to Galilee.

Last month my oldest daughter Michelle (29) and her husband Jonathan and my second-oldest daughter Vanessa (26), came to visit me in Israel.  Their two-week stay with me still lingers like a sweet dream.

Vanessa in Jerusalem market

Vanessa in Jerusalem market

Although Michelle and Vanessa had been to Israel several times before, and with

Vanessa, Maurice, Jonathan in Jerusalem's Jewish Quarter
Vanessa, Maurice, Jonathan in Jerusalem’s Jewish Quarter

Birthright, this time was different.  They weren’t typical tourists; they’d come “home” to see and be with me.  We spent mornings together, cooked breakfast, went places, spent time talking into the night.  I couldn’t help but admire how they’d turned out – magnificent women.

Michelle, me - Hanging out in Jerusalem

Michelle, me – Hanging out in Jerusalem

Michelle and Jonathan in Notre Dame -Jerusalem

Michelle and Jonathan in Notre Dame -Jerusalem

We hugged a lot, joked and laughed.  Maya and Romy couldn’t be happier with their older sisters.

Vanessa, me on Tel Aviv beach

Vanessa, me on Tel Aviv beach

Michelle trying on hat in Nazareth

Michelle trying on hat in Nazareth

Michelle and Vanessa got the chance to see how we live in Israel, to meet up with our friends, aunts and uncles, grandfather and grandmother, to sun and bathe on a Tel Aviv beach, to trek in orchards and vineyards in Galilee, to wander through the streets of Nazareth, to witness the wonder that is Jerusalem.

Pnina in Nazareth

Pnina in Nazareth

Fruit Stand in Tel Aviv

Fruit Stand in Tel Aviv

My parents Joe and Yvonne

My parents Joe and Yvonne

Michelle and Vanessa outside grandparents' house

Michelle and Vanessa outside grandparents’ house

The family gang at beach restaurant

The family gang at beach restaurant

My dad and I

My dad and I

Sweet Delights in Nazareth bakery

Sweet Delights in Nazareth bakery

Michelle and Me at the top of Mt. Tavor,

Michelle and Me at the top of Mt. Tavor,

We are family - all my daugters and me

We are family – all my daugters and me

Seniors at Jerusalem Cafe

Seniors at Jerusalem Cafe

In the end, the clock wound down.  Caught us all by surprise.  They packed their suitcases with memories and returned to America.  Until next time.

Lights. Camera. Action.

A day after too much fun

A day after too much fun

Vanessa and me on Mt. TAvor

Vanessa and me on Mt. TAvor

Twins Romy and Maya lounging on Tel Aviv beach

Twins Romy and Maya lounging on Tel Aviv beach

Daughters enjoying a much-deserved break at Carmel Market, Tel Aviv

Daughters enjoying a much-deserved break at Carmel Market, Tel Aviv

Found a Photo of the Labi family in 1976, Israel

While going through photo albums at my parents with my kids found a Photo of the Labi family in 1976, Israel – Mom, Dad, sister, me

8 Responses to “We are family – all my daugthers and me”

  1. Rafi reisfeld July 20, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

    Hi Maurice. it was good to read this one especially feeling the joy and pride u had with ur daughters in their latest visit to Israel. When I saw u last it was just a few days b4 they came and I felt the apprehension and hope that all will go well. Reading this post I see and feel that all of you had a great time. Kol Tuv. Rafi Reisfeld

  2. Sandy Galfas July 20, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

    Your daughters are GORGEOUS Maurice. In fact, your whole family looks great–even you,bubula. Luv, Sandy

  3. Adi Harari July 21, 2013 at 6:08 am #

    How happy you all look. Great pictures Maurice, I almost forgot to read your blog.
    Say hello for me. Adi

  4. Vanessa Labi July 21, 2013 at 6:24 am #

    Best trip ever! I experienced so many parts of Israel and got to spend time with my amazing family. <3<3<3

  5. Meg July 21, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

    LOVED seeing All the picx. Glad you got into the gene pool – such lovely ladies!
    cheers – Meg

    • katherine July 25, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

      Loved all the pictures of your time together. I was worried about the kids going, but I know they had a great holiday and visit with you.

  6. WALLY August 15, 2013 at 5:29 am #

    MY 1ST COMMENT WAS –ITS TO SHORT–BUT THEN ALL YOUR WONDERFUL PICTURES CAME UP –WHAT A BEAUTIFUL BUNCH OF GALS AND WONDERFUL FAMILY–YOU HIT THE JACKPOT MAURICE.

    WALLY

Let me know what you think

